Posted by: vitrolm | July 6, 2011

First Work Day

Mozart came to us as an early riser, so when Neil woke up to get ready for work, Mozart started squeaking to be let out of her cage. Neil was happy to oblige and gave her fresh food/water. We switched off keeping an eye on her while the other took a shower, etc.

When it was time for me to leave, I told Mozart “Mommy has to go to work. Time to go back in the cage.” I took her off of her play top and locked her up, followed by giving her a nutriberry, which she loves. I set up her avian light, turned on the radio for her, and made sure she had shade to hide from the light if she wanted. I said “Bye bye, Mozart. Be back soon. Got to go to work. See you later.”

My stomach was IN KNOTS all day about leaving her for so long. I wondered was she bored? How mad would she be when I got home?

She must have sensed my stress because here’s what happened:

“Today when I got home from work and let Mozart out of her cage, I offered her some warm sweet potato (she ignored me), then offered her a sunflower seed (breeder said she loves ’em), and all she did was give me an angry look and growl at me.  Cry

Is she mad because I was gone for so long, you think? Today was the first day we went to work, but the breeder worked, and we had shorter periods of being gone over the weekend so she wouldn’t get used to us being here all hours. 

The other night she flew to the top of the bedroom door frame and was having trouble hanging on, so I slowly went to her and said “you need help?” She flew down to my chest and sat on my shoulder while I gave her a little tour, which she seemed to enjoy. She gets REALLY mad when we put her in her cage. Also, I’ve been turning the avian bulb on during the day when we are gone, but I leave a part of the cage covered so she can get away from it if she wants. Looking at her droppings, she stayed in the shade ALL DAY. Maybe the light is upsetting her? 

I don’t know what to do. It seems like the longer she’s here the more she dislikes us. She was so sweet the first full day, then less so yesterday, and today she didn’t want us near her this morning before work OR this afternoon. She won’t even fly to her playstands now — she just stays on her cage top. I must be a horrible mom. Please, if you have any suggestions, or questions, I am open. 

I’ve been talking sweetly to her, giving her yummy foods, giving her toys that she likes to play with, putting her to bed earlier, etc. The only thing I do that she showed any aversion to before was to put her in her cage when we are gone or it’s time for bed. “

I wrote the breeder with my concerns. I missed her call, but she left me a sweet voice message letting me know it is NOT ME, and that Mozart just needs time to adjust.

After that, I made a really huge effort to lower my energy before approaching Mozart, and she has never growled at me again!

Leave a Reply

Categories

